Bafta TV Awards 2022: Coronation Street wins in coveted soap category

The long-running series won in the coveted continuing soap and drama category, with Dragons’ Den stars Sara Davies and Steven Bartlett presenting the award.

Last year, Casualty picked up the award.

Sally Dynevor (Sally Webster) spoke during the acceptance speech, dedicating the ITV series’ TV Bafta for soap and continuing drama to Sophie Lancaster and her mother Sylvia.

Sylvia founded the Sophie Lancaster Foundation in memory of her daughter, who was kicked to death because she was dressed as a goth.

On stage, Sally said: ‘We weren’t expecting this tonight, we really weren’t, so thank you so much Bafta for this award. Working on this show is just a privilege – and the drama and the comedy go so well on Corrie.

‘And one of the most important stories we have told this year was the hate crime story. So we would like to dedicate this to Sophie Lancaster and her mother Sylvia Lancaster.’

Elsewhere during British TV’s biggest night, including Matthew MacFadyen and Kathy Tyson picked up awards, with shows including Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway, and Gogglebox also scooping up wins.

Kathy Tyson, who appeared in widely-praised drama Help, won for supporting actress, while Sophie Willan scored a win for female performance in comedy programme.

Meanwhile, The Chase won for daytime programme.

Aside from the wins and losses, we also witnessed some pretty iconic moments – we got the first interviews from Sex Education star Ncuti Gatwa, who’s been announced as the 14th Doctor, taking over from Jodie Whittaker this autumn.

Lorraine Kelly couldn’t resist making a dig at Boris Johnson, who recently asked who the daytime TV legend was in his explosive interview with Susanna Reid.

While presenting the award for news coverage (which went to ITV News’ coverage of the Storming of the Capitol) she quipped: ‘Hello and a special hello to Boris, I’m Lorraine, lovely to see you’.

This evening’s ceremony saw awards handed out by a range of presenters, including Olivia Colman, Katie Piper, Ross Kemp, Suranne Jones, Tom Daley, and Lee Mack.

Run by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts, each year, the award ceremony celebrates key accomplishments and innovations across film, television and games and the winners will receive the instantly recognisable Bafta award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: